DRIVING DRUNK IN GEORGIA


PENALTIES EXPLAINED


OTHER SERIOUS DRIVING OFFENSES


 Serious Business

A DUI conviction or plea of "guilty" or nolo contendere will be a permanent part of your driving record. It does not "come off" your record after 5 years ... it never comes off your record. Moreover, a conviction, guilty plea or nolo contendere plea is reported to the Georgia Department of Public Safety, which in turn, reports it to the National Driver's License Registry.

The court shall order a person convicted of impaired driving to have an ignition interlock device attached to his/her vehicle for second and subsequent offenses within five years, unless the court exempts the person due to financial hardship. This is required for any vehicle that is operated by the offender for a period of six months.

License plates are also seized anytime a violator is convicted of a second or subsequent DUI within five (5) years.

Minors: In addition to court-imposed penalties, drivers between the ages of 15-21 who are convicted of impaired driving must delay obtaining their graduated license for 12 months. The BAC level for DUI for persons under 21 has been established at .02, while the level for adults is .08.

Georgia DUI PENALTIES


First Offense

  • Classification:  Misdemeanor
  • Jail Time:  Min. 10 Days up to 12 Months
  • Fine:  Min. $300 – Max. $1,000
  • Driver’s License Suspension: 12 mos.
  • Risk Reduction School (DUI School):  20 hours
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug Evaluation
  • Probation mandatory for one year, if released.
  • Mandatory Community Service:  40 hours

Second Offense

  • Classification:  Misdemeanor
  • Jail Time:  Min. 90 days – Max. 12 Months
  • Fine:  Min. $600 – Max. $1,000
  • Driver’s License Suspension: 12 mos. (3 years, if prior within 5 years)*
  • Surrender plates for all registered vehicles
  • (Special plates available for hardship to household members)
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device
  • Notice of your conviction and mug shot published in newspaper
  • Risk Reduction School (DUI School):  20 hours
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation & follow recommendations
  • Probation mandatory for one year, if released.
  • Mandatory Community Service:  30 days (240 hours)
  • But length of DL suspension is based on prior conviction within 5 years.

Third Offense

Within 10 years of previous offense

  • Classification:  Aggravated Misdemeanor (Habitual Violator)
  • Jail Time:  Min. 120 days – Max. 12 months. (Must serve min. 15 days)
  • Fine:  Min. $1,000 – Max. $5,000
  • Driver’s License Revocation: 5 years., if 2 prior DUIs within 5 years
  • Surrender plates for all registered vehicles
  • (Special plates available for hardship to household members)
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device
  • Notice of your conviction and mug shot published in newspaper
  • Risk Reduction School (DUI School):  20 hours
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation & follow recommendations
  • Probation mandatory for one year, if released.
  • Mandatory Community Service:  30 days (240 hours)
  • Length of DL suspension is based on prior conviction within 5 years.

 Fourth or More Offense

Within 10 Years of Previous

  • Classification:  Felony (Habitual Violator)
  • Prison Time:  Min. 1 year. – Max. 5 years. (Must serve minimum. 90 days)
  • Fine:  Min. $1,000 – Max. $5,000
  • Driver’s License Revocation: 5 years., if 2 prior DUIs within 5 years
  • Surrender plates for all registered vehicles
  • (Special plates available for hardship to household members)
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device
  • Notice of your conviction and mug shot published in newspaper
  • Risk Reduction School (DUI School):  20 hours
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug evaluation & follow recommendations
  • Probation mandatory for 5 years, if released.
  • Mandatory Community Service:  60 days (480 hours)
  • Length of DL suspension is based on prior conviction within 5 years.